repose

This word – repose – came to me while I was writing my ‘morning pages’ yesterday.

Morning pages are a tool for releasing your creativity as advocated by Julia Cameron in her brilliant book ‘The Artists Way”. The idea is to, as soon after waking as possible, write 3 pages of something … anything, and its amazing what is waiting there to be written. My experience of it is that when I create the space for creativity to flow, and can get my judging self out of the way, then flow it will on to the blank pages. It feels like I drop down (or up?) a level into a stream of universal creativity, something not belonging to me and which I can access anytime.

I no longer write 3 pages every morning which I did for a while. I go through periods of starting the day with writing and I invariably feel better and more creative and energised as a result. I would highly recommend the book which is a comprehensive journey back to your creative self.

Getting back to repose. I was letting the words flow on the page and “silence and repose” came to me. Repose is not a word i would ordinarily use and I looked at the word written on the page and started reflecting on it and what it might mean.

To me it speaks of a deep resting. I wondered if the word had a similar root to reposition. Which led me on to think about the resting I have been doing since getting to Pembrokeshire last year.  When I allow myself to deeply rest, I find new edges of myself, or edges that I haven’t been in touch with for a long time. This happens, as in the repose I am repositioning myself, catching up with myself, bringing myself up to date with who I am and where I am now. And it takes a lot of repose and I am not fully there yet.

On checking it out, the two words – repose and reposition – have different roots. Repose stems from the latin for ‘pause’. And when I think about pausing I come back to the long tide and the idea of that deep primal creative inbreath.

One thought on “repose

  1. I’m ‘inspired’ to hear you refer to the ‘primal creative inbreath’ – This is the subject of my 2nd video – the glorious breath, so full of all that is – so vast its almost ridiculous to even attempt to begin to speak of it – so My message is to experience it, to appreciate its amazing gift of life, to notice its generosity, its quiet ever present immense loyalty to each and every one of us as loved human beings, wonderfully individual yet totally united by this blessed experience of life through the simplicity of ‘inspiration’ and ‘expression’.
    On & On I go!
    love, love,
    Pip
    xx
    x

Leave a Reply

